Hey Indo! – Indonesia will extend mandatory quarantine for most international arrivals from 7 days to 10 days. This is a move by the government to tighten border restrictions to avoid the spread of the Omicron variant.

The Coordinating Minister for Maritime Affairs and Investment, Luhut Pandjaitan, who is in charge of the COVID-19 restriction policy in Indonesia, said the government would require those who enter Indonesia from abroad to undergo a 10-day quarantine based on President Joko Widodo’s direction. .

“We adopted this policy, which will be evaluated further to try to understand this new variant more deeply,” said Luhut yesterday night, Wednesday (2/12).

A ministerial regulation confirming and outlining the specifics of the extension of the quarantine is expected in the near future.

The ban on all foreign travelers arriving from 11 countries and territories with known cases of Omicron still applies. Indonesian citizens who have a history of travel to the area must be quarantined for 14 days upon arrival in Indonesia.

These countries and territories are: South Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Mozambique, Eswatini, Malawi, Angola, Zambia and Hong Kong. It remains to be seen whether the ban will be expanded to include other countries where Omicron has been detected, namely Australia, Canada and some European countries.

In response to Omicron’s fears, Indonesia has just extended the mandatory quarantine for international arrivals arriving from outside the above countries and regions to 7 days from the previous 3 days.

In another precaution, Luhut has temporarily banned government officials from traveling abroad, as well as appealed to the general public not to travel abroad.
Quoted from coconuts news.